The Ultimate Portfolio Project for Beginner Coders

Portfolio project, cover letter secrets, developer musings, weekly reflection, announcements & more!

Heya Friends :)

Hope you’ve all had a cash money start to the week 🔥 

Here’s what’s up for the week of Friday 20th October, 2023.

Cover Letters

Stop writing cover letters - seriously. Also, don’t go paying for anyone with an AI cover letter service either! Use this free alternative I made instead →

You paste in your resume, then the job posting, and copy/paste the output text into your own ChatGPT. You’ll have amazing cover letters in seconds for free (although I would still recommend giving them a read over once lol).

In this video, we build the ultimate beginner portfolio project - a working calculator web app. It’s actually super neat, is very responsive, and obviously, is interactive thanks to JavaScript & some DOM manipulation.

It’s a pretty short project video and we even deploy the project at the end so I would highly recommend giving it a watch! You can watch the video here (this video is 4th in the CODE//54 challenge!) →

Dev Tip of the Week

This is a new segment for the newsletter where I will be sharing cool dev tips or techniques so that we can all be pro developers.

This weeks tip introduces the following CSS style:

.text { text-emphasis: '🍄' }

Go ahead and try it in your code - it’s pretty cool!

Weekly Reflection

As someone with ADHD, it’s super hard for me to find a task management system that I like and that sticks - until recently. I made a Daily Standup channel in the Discord where I post my tasks for the day, on a daily basis; basically it’s accountability and clarity for me all in one. And it’s been great, I do it daily, and it helps me stay focused. So if you’re looking for a new productivity and time management system, might be worth a try.

Announcement

She’s a bit of a longer newsletter this week haha! But I just wanted to announce that I’m working on releasing my first course in 8 weeks time! It’s going to be a JavaScript course as it’s a pretty crux language and I’m not 100% on any of the current options for learning it, so I figured I’d make my own.

If you have any comments or thoughts about anything in the newsletter, feel free to respond to this email and I will see your message! Or send me a message in the Discord channel :)

Thanks for reading and hope you all have a great weekend ahead 🔥

Cheers,

James